Select Language



Beyond  recognizing pioneering research across the world through its annual award, the Global Energy Prize manages a range of programmes on science and innovation geared toward younger audiences and toward honoring superior media coverage on energy subjects.

The Energy of Words Prize is an annual international media award established by the Global Energy Association in 2004. Each year it recognizes journalists from around the world who through their work have made a significant contribution to the awareness and understanding of global energy issues, trends and solutions.

Entry Requirements

Nominations are accepted on the basis of the submission of a single piece of work from the journalist concerned. Articles, opinion pieces and interviews published in journals, magazines and newspapers, including those published online, are accepted for consideration; submissions should include a maximum 400 word abstract of the article submitted (in English).

Entries must be submitted from May 3 to July 27, 2018 via the Global Energy Association website. Only those materials that were published in the media from April 30, 2017 to May 2, 2018 are allowed to participate in the contest.  Articles are accepted in any language provided that an abstract of the article is submitted in English.


Nomination for the award can be made by: authors;


The winner(s) will be announced in September 2018, while the award ceremony will take place during the Global Energy Prize Laureate’s Week in October 2018. The winner(s) will receive an all-expenses paid trip to Russia, invitation to participate in the Russian Energy Week, as well as the opportunity to have exclusive interviews.

Past winners

Winners of the Energy of Words Prize include:

  • Mr. Hal Hodson, journalist of The Economist (UK)
  • Mr. Robin Mills, author at Foreign Policy (UK)
  • Ms. Kaixi Huang, Correspondent of Caixin Media (China)
  • Mr. Terry Macalister, Energy Editor of The Guardian, for coverage of the exploration and production of oil in the Article circle.
  • Mr. Martin Fackler, the Tokyo bureau chief of The New York Times, for his exceptional contributions to the coverage of international energy issues with his series of articles on Fukushima.
  • Ms. Natasha Loder, Correspondent of The Economist, for coverage of the new technologies in manufacturing of the lithium-ion batteries

A full list of previous winners can be found here.


Submissions are judged on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Subject – All submissions must be related to a contemporary energy issue.
  • Insight – Submissions must provide innovative views and/or research into the subject.
  • Objectivity – Features must provide unbiased analysis of the subject.
  • Quality of research – Submissions are expected to uphold a rigorous level of research.
  • Quality of writing – Submissions are expected to have a high standard of writing.

Submissions are judged by the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee. The Committee chooses up to two winners each year. The decision of the panel is final.

The Energy of Words entry form

If you want to submit your work for the Energy of Words Award please register here.


Click here to view the Energy of Words Statute.

Developed by Brickwall